The Art of Distraction

I’ve been bad at blogging lately. I know it. I feel like it’s an indication that I’ve been spending a little more time living my life (or perhaps more accurately, distracting myself), and less time in a state of inward contemplation. I think people would argue for both sides, but I must say I prefer the prior (if I’m hush-ing the writer in me).

That being said, there hasn’t been a dearth of things to think about. A lot has been going on, lots of changes have been taking place, so I guess you could say that I’ve been attempting to keep myself as busy as possible. I started a Tumblr, booked my tickets home, read a few books, and filled my weekends with lots of activity. So much so that I haven’t even had time for a proper conversation with my mom, sister, cousin, friends. Clearly not a pro at balance – both of the life variety and meal variety. My eating habits have totally and disgustingly derailed. Someone help me! I actually ate McDonalds last night…(……. thought that statement required a bit more emphasis).

Also, Fall TV premiers haven’t been helping. And they probably won’t for the remainder of the year. Who says TV rots your brain? I feel simply inspired… and who doesn’t love being a couch potato for days at a time!

But just to reflect on the last month in St. Lucia, New York City, and the Hamptons.

It’s been a pretty decent month so far. And since my favorite holidays ever are coming up (YAY HALLOWEEN AND THANKSGIVING (this has historically been my favorite, but see what I mean about eating!!?)!), and I get to wear sweaters and boots most days of the week, I’m sure the little bit of 2012 that’s still left will be a doozy. Knock on wood.

Hope everyone is doing great,

AG

Leave a Reply

