For the Fashion Folk – Mercedes Benz Fashion Week Starts Today!

Today marks the first day of Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week here in NYC. The web is abuzz with tips and wardrobe-yeses for the fashion faux-pas prone. I like to think that I’m relatively style-savvy, but I must admit – I am eating this stuff up.

Refinery29 did a snippet on the Dos and Don’ts of Fashion Week. The talent is a little lame (not trying to be a snob-bitch (totally not entitled to be), but you’ll see what I mean), but they bring up some pretty good points. Namely – don’t wear sunglasses inside, don’t linger awkwardly around street-style photographers, and bring a snack (although it’s kind of gross to whip out a $5 footlong – let’s try and be sensitive to the celery and seltzer-bound models!).

I am also drooling over Rue La La’s How to Dress for NYFW sale (if you’re not a member at Rue La La, let me know). These items are going like hotcakes, but they’re so swoon worthy. Here are some of my faves:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ah, that’s a lot of faves. I know, I went a little overboard. I’m a virtual window-shopaholic. I guess it’s the safest type to be :)

I can’t wait to see what the new lines look like. A lot of room for wedding inspiration here. Here are a few tidbits that I’ve picked up on already:

  • Animal print is still in. Use these patterns in moderation in your wedding – maybe a Zebra-print napkin at each place setting?
  • So is fur. Use this very sparingly. Napkin rings? Feathers in your centerpiece? Or if you’re bold – maybe a fur shrug over your wedding ensemble?
  • Big statement pieces aren’t going anywhere. Embrace the crazy cocktail rings and heavy necklaces. They give the traditional wedding look and really gorgeous twist
  • Gold gold and more gold
  • Don’t be afraid to bling out – Heavy beading/sequencing/print is a great way to express your personality and go a little crazy

More to come as the week chugs along!

Love,

AG

Leave a Reply

