So I’m Not One for Nature…

In fact, I much prefer being indoors. The farthest I’ll go in terms of being “outdoorsy” is the occasional picnic. Or bike ride. I opt for the treadmill (during the fleeting moments I actually decide to physically exert myself), I am literally handicapped when it comes to navigating crowded New York streets with an umbrella, and I admittedly always liked Silent Reading time more than Recess as a child. I’m also more than content getting my fresh air through my window, if you must know.

So imagine my childish surprise when I decided to peruse my “boards” on Pinterest today (please refer to my emphatic sidenote, below*), and my entire “Tying the Knot” board consisted heavily of outdoor wedding ideas/nature-inspired looks. Seriously, I must be subconsciously obsessed. But after marinating on my favorite wedding looks for a bit, I had a few realizations:

1. Indian weddings are almost never completely outdoors. Call me rebellious.

2. Outdoor weddings have this way of making the day more about the couple. Forget the fancy hall, forget the disco lights, forget the monograms on the dance floor. It’s about bringing us back to human nature and stripping it all down. It’s just about the grass, the trees, some flowers, and love. Simple, elegant, and beautifully pointed.

3. I don’t know much about what I want for my wedding. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve never truly thought about it. I love acting as the idea gatherer, and inspiring others to reach for the stars when it comes to their wedding (they’ll never get the day back, afterall), but when it comes to me… Nada. Nothing. I never had any clue. But after perusing all my pins, I’ve realized that I do know. It’s been in my head all this time, I’ve just never seen my preferences come to life (in one place) like this before (read: another reason why Pinterest is so bitchin’). So conclusively, I’m absolutely smitten by outdoor weddings, and that’s one thing I know! It’s a start!

Here are some of my favorite Pins. Also, I think Pinterest should make me a brand ambassador (again, see emphatic sidenote below).

Your Wedding Planner to-be,

AG

*EMPHATIC SIDENOTE – IF YOU ARE NOT ON PINTEREST YET, I HIGHLY ENCOURAGE YOU IMMEDIATELY JOIN. I WILL PERSONALLY INVITE YOU AND YOU WILL BECOME OBSESSED AND THANK ME EXCESSIVELY AFTER YOU SPEND AN ENTIRE WEEKEND SITTING IN YOUR BED PINNING.

3 thoughts on “So I’m Not One for Nature…

Leave a Reply

