“Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.” A Tribute to Steve Jobs

It’s a somber morning, friends. As many of you know, Steve Jobs passed away last night, at the age of 56, from Pancreatic Cancer. He had been fighting cancer since 2004 and had recently stepped down as CEO of Apple. Despite his resignation, he was still the Chairman of the board, and had a monumental influence on, well, everyone.

As I write this, I’m sitting on my Mac, with my iPhone in my lap, and my Apple earbuds in my ears. The reach of Steve Jobs genius and fearlessness is omnipresent.

When my dad texted me last night with the news (I was, ironically, NOT on my iPhone – as silly as it sounds, my manicure was drying), I almost caught myself off guard. I guess I never thought the death of someone I had never met, never interacted with, would affect me as it did. The more I thought about it, though, the more I realized the wonderful aspects of humanity Steve Jobs truly personified. Ingenuity, fearlessness, madness, genius, passion, fervor, desire to be the best man he could be. He embodied so much strength and tenaciousness, even in his weakest of days.

Here’s a piece of advice I promise to hold close to my heart for the rest of my life. It’s simple, but that’s just how Jobs rolled.

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

#thankyouSteve

AG

Leave a Reply

