Slightly Irreverent Royal Wedding Recap

*Gulp*.

I’ve been bad. The Royal Wedding passed and no blog post. It’s almost been a month, and I apologize profusely for my carelessness. I know a bad workman blames his tools, but I blame it on my job.

Now that apologies are out of the way (and my guilt has been thrown to the wayside), let’s get to the good stuff.

As we all know, at this point, the Royal Wedding was absolutely FASCINATING (no pun intended, although we will get to the fascinators soon enough). I watched every single second of it (okay, this is a bit of a lie, I fast forwarded through some of the little boys chorus parts, so in actually, I watched the greater MAJORITY), while smiling uncontrollably, gasping, swooning, sighing, crying, the works. I was truly a matrimonial mess.

I always knew I loved weddings, but let’s be honest, Say Yes to the Dress, Whose Wedding is it Anyway, etc. do not hold a flame to the Royal Wedding. It was so grand, everyone looked amazing (David Beckham, ahem), and I literally wanted to scream in excitement when I finally saw Kate’s (or to be more proper, Catherine Middleton, Duchess of Cambridge’s) Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen dress.

http://www.weddinginspirasi.com/2011/05/09/kate-middletons-wedding-dress-inspired-by-grace-kelly-part-2/

Kate Middleton Wedding Dress (@weddinginspirasi)

Stunning is seriously an understatement. And the fact that she did her own makeup speaks so much to her character. She looked beautiful, and had quite the princess glow! Not to mention how even in all the madness, William didn’t forget to tell her how beautiful she looked. Sigh. Truly a transformation from the girl in the see-through dress. And truly a fairytale.

The Kiss

It seems like in the last few weeks, however, sister Pippa has totally made some of the limelight her own. After she wow-ed at the wedding in her form fitting (or to be slightly brusque, booty-fitting) Sarah Burton bridesmaid dress, she’s continued to gather press momentum.

Pippa Middleton, Sarah Burton Dress

Paparazzi have been following her and long time beau Alex Loudon, uprooting questionable photographs, and just plain following her around town. People are questioning whether Pippa “outshined” her big sis on the big day, I totally beg to differ. Though it will be fun to watch as she becomes a pop culture icon.

And to add to the oh-so-slight irreverence of this post. These are the two UGLIEST headpieces I have ever seen.

Tara Palmer Tomkinson

I will be keeping a close eye on both Catherine and Pippa, and will be sure to share. In the meantime, if you haven’t seen the Royal Wedding, do yourself a favor and find a way to watch it. I will have it saved on my DVR until the end of time, and am more than willing to watch it again (and again, and again).

Butterfly kisses,

AG

One thought on “Slightly Irreverent Royal Wedding Recap

Leave a Reply

